The Studio

Two rooms equipped with reformers. We limit the number of participants in order to guarantee the comfort and pleasure of our members.

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

Our Trainers

A team at your service. Don't hesitate to alternate trainer when booking your private lessons.

All our teachers are graduates of prestigious Pilates institutions.

Courses are generally taught by the same professors, although occasionally there may be rotations, especially during holiday periods.

anne.png
oleysia.png

Anne Cadieu Garampon

Graduate of the Pilates Institute of Geneva

Languages : French & English

  • Instagram

Olesya Chernaya

Graduate of CIS Milano

Languages : Russian, Italian & English

  • Instagram
The Pilates method

The Pilates method bears the name of its founder, Joseph Hubertus Pilates.

Because he suffered from fledging health as a child, he pursued all his life the goal of enhancing his physical condition. He perfected a series of exercises aiming at strengthening his muscles with the view to diminish his natural imbalances and enhance his posture.

These exercises do not increase muscle mass but strengthen weaker muscles and release or soothe tensed muscles. One's figure becomes more relaxed and at ease, joints are easier to work, deep abdominals muscles become more tonic, back muscles are being strengthened.

This being said, Pilates is not just gymnastics. The approach is different, coupling the deep understanding of muscular effort with the full consciousness of one's body and feels.

All exercises are executed with extreme control, precision, ease and calm. Efforts are not repeated too many times because they request a very intense effort in terms of resistance and stability. These exercises require complete awareness and a very intense mental concentration. The understanding of these exercises by the students makes them realize and feel the exact muscular implication of Pilates exercises, hence increasing their body consciousness to new levels. Mind over body is the motto.

Pilates feeds on gymnastics, dance, martial arts and yoga, all of which the founder of the method practised in earnest, but Joseph Hubertus Pilates created with his method a new repertoire of more than 500 specific exercises which makes it unique.

Pilates is being practised on the floor, with or without dedicated accessories (balls, circles, rollers etc) or on dedicated machines created by the founder of the discipline (reformer, cadillac, chairs...)

These machines are fitted with springs presenting various resistances against which the practitioner's muscles will fight. Thanks to these springs, muscles will work in a linear fashion experiencing gradual resistance. This is why muscles get nicely elongated and do not bulge as they do using weights. Machines are also comfortable, relaxing and fun: they do add to the pleasure of practicing Pilates.

Le Studio

Deux salles dont une équipée de reformers. Nous limitons le nombre de participants aux cours afin de garantir le confort et le plaisir des membres de Pilates Alaya.

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

Nos Professeurs

Une équipe à votre service. N'hésitez pas à réserver vous cours particuliers en alternant les professeurs.

Tous nos professeurs sont diplômées d'institutions prestigieuses en Pilates.


Les cours sont généralement assurés par les mêmes professeurs même si occasionnellement des permutations peuvent avoir lieu notamment pendant les périodes de congés.

anne.png
oleysia.png

Anne Cadieu Garampon

Diplomée du Pilates Institute de Genève

Langues : Français & Anglais

  • Instagram

Olesya Chernaya

Diplomée du CIS Milano

Langues : Russe, Italien & Anglais

  • Instagram
La méthode Pilates

La méthode Pilates porte le nom de son créateur, Joseph Hubertus Pilates.

Enfant à la santé fragile, il n'eut de cesse, toute sa vie, d'améliorer sa condition physique. Il mit au point un répertoire d'exercices visant à fortifier les muscles posturaux pour corriger les déséquilibres musculaires et améliorer la posture.

Les exercices de la méthode Pilates n'augmentent pas la masse musculaire mais fortifient les muscles faibles et étirent les muscles tendus ou contractés.

La silhouette s'allonge et se délie, les articulations s'assouplissent, les muscles abdominaux profonds se tonifient, les muscles du dos se renforcent.

Cependant, un cours de Pilates n'est pas simplement une séance de gymnastique. Son approche est différente : elle mêle au travail musculaire la pleine conscience du mouvement et le développement du ressenti corporel.
Tous les exercices sont exécutés en contrôle, avec précision, avec fluidité et avec calme. Les répétitions sont peu nombreuses car l'effort à fournir est intense en terme de résistance et de stabilité. L'effort demande une attention permanente et une concentration extrême. Ainsi, la conscience des mouvements effectués amène les pratiquants à comprendre et à ressentir leurs implications musculaires. Ils acquièrent ainsi une conscience corporelle très développée.
C'est la maîtrise du corps par l'esprit.

La méthode Pilates se définit également par sa technique respiratoire. Tous les exercices doivent être exécutés dans le respect de règles respiratoires qui leur sont propres. Maîtriser son souffle, c'est faire disparaître les tensions, c'est travailler avec fluidité, c'est augmenter sa capacité respiratoire et c'est ressentir une agréable sensation de détente, en s'éloignant, le temps d'une séance, de ses problèmes quotidiens.